This is a UI spec describing behavior of Plugins dialog when uninstalling and deactivating plugins. Main motivation for change in the existing behavior as implemented in 6.0 M10 is that the IDE has to be always restarted when plugins are deactivated or uninstalled.
Use Cases and Scenarios
The user wants to uninstall a few plugins from the IDE.
To do it, the user opens the Plugin manager and in the Installed tab she checks the check boxes for plugins she wants to uninstall. The plugin manager informs the use that restart will be required. She clicks the Uninstall button and a wizard pops up informing the user again that the IDE will be restarted. In the wizard the user clicks the Uninstall button and the IDE is restarted and plugins are uninstalled.
The user wants to deactivate a few plugins.
The scenario is the same as in the Uninstall use case, the user just clicks the Deactivate button instead of Uninstall... see above for details.
The user wants to activate a few plugins she's previously deactivated.
Again, the scenario is the same as in the Uninstall use case, but the user clicks the Activate button instead of Uninstall... see above for details.
Figure: Installed Tab with "restart" warning
The warning appears if at least one item is checked in the list of plugins. Deactivate button deactivates the selected (checked) items. If a deactivated item is selected (checked) in the list, the button changes to Activate. If both active and inactive items are selected then the Activate button is present (activation has a preference over deactivation).
Figure: Uninstallation Wizard with "restart" warning
The exact same warning appears in the wizard when deactivating plugins. If the user clicks Uninstall button the IDE is restarted and plugins are uninstalled. If the user clicks Cancel it gets back to the Plugins dialog.